RSS

Little kids…Big God

14 Jun

Child

Things were not going well this morning…

I was determined to pray on the armor of God. My four year-old had other plans.

I kept asking God to protect that time so I could be ready for the day.

But the drama continued. The whining. The clinginess. And crying at the drop of a hat.

My little girl was not acting like her usual chipper self.

I was getting angrier and angrier.

I finally almost blew a gasket and started stomping towards her and in the direction of her room. She burst into tears (again) and started running towards her room.

I realized in that moment that I had both scared her and hurt her feelings at the same time.

This was a teachable moment for me. I was scared of going any further with my day without praying. However, God was sending a clear message that I needed to stop and attend to my daughter.

I sat on the rocking chair in her room and held her. Her face was very unhappy.

I finally asked her, “Are you feeling grouchy today?” Her response was a sullen “yes”.

I said, “Let’s pray to Jesus about this.” Despite some reluctance, she repeated my words.

“Dear Jesus, please help me not to be grouchy. Amen.”

I saw an immediate change in her. She began to play with her little brother right away in a loving, sharing manner. Her behavior the rest of the morning was completely different.  And it was such a simple, short prayer.

I heard a preacher say years ago that God doesn’t send kids a “junior Holy Spirit”. Their God is as great big as ours is and so is their Holy Spirit.

Luke 18: 16 But Jesus called them to Him and said, “Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of God.17 Assuredly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will by no means enter it.” (NKJV)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 14, 2014 in Children, Prayer

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
